The impressive fortress Burg Layen was built in the 13th century. In 1802, the Diel Family came into possession of the castle estate. It was during the occupation of Napoleons troops in the Nahe region, when Johann Peter Diel acquired large parts of the historic mountain sides and the proper estates from Herbert Wolfgang Freiherr von Dalberg.
The stylish tasting room at the Schlossgut Diel offers space for individual tastings and small groups of visitors. The old pressing room also offers space for larger groups by appointment only.
The oldest cellar of the estate dates back to first construction of the fortress. The best Rieslings are matured in the coolest cellars in large barrels, containing about 1,200 Liters, made of oak from the Hunsrück northwest of the estate.
The aging of the red and white burgundies in small barrels has a tradition at the Diel estate that dates back to the early 1980s. The 228 liter barrels are made of French Oak. One small part of the barrels is replaced every year.
Art in the Cellars
In the late 1980s, the artist Johannes Helle converted the stainless steel tanks of the Diel estate into pieces of art, turning them into a formidable sculptural landscape. Ever since, the painter has returned to Burg Layen once a year to improve his technique on these unique paintings.
This is the sanctum of the estate. Rare wines that date back to the 20s of the last century are stored here under perfect conditions. The exquisite Eiswein-Rieslings, which reach top prices at traditional wine auctions of the quality wine estates of the Nahe (VDP), are particularly coveted by wine collectors