Family

A Tradition Spanning Seven Generations


A Life Filled with Wine & Family

Sites, soils and vines! Variety is certainly the spice of life for the Diels. What they do is more than just a job, it is their calling. Caroline is the seventh generation of winemaker — and first woman — at the venerable Schlossgut, having assumed the reigns together with her husband Sylvain Taurisson-Diel in July 2019.

The German/French pair are members of a new anti-elitist generation of winemakers. Family and job exist simultaneously, inseparable from each other. With that said, everyone has his or her own distinct area of responsibility. Sylvain handles sales and marketing, Caroline oversees the wine from bud to bottle. Year for year, the university-trained oenologist imbues her Rieslings and Pinots with her own personal signature — linear, mineral, shaped by terroir and authenticity.


Caroline and Sylvain, with their children

»What matters to me is capturing the voice of each vineyard and vintage in every wine.«

Caroline Diel, July 2019

Caroline Diel with her father Armin Diel

An Amazing Wine Story

When Peter Diel acquired the country estate of Baron von Dalberg in 1802, including Burg Layen, no one could have predicted just how successful the new business would be — for over two hundred years and counting. Diel began a long transition of the Schlossgut from a classic mixed farm — that is, an agricultural estate that happened to also make wine — into a pure winegrowing estate.

The sixth generation — under the management of Armin and Monika Diel — reoriented the estate's vineyards toward varieties that are now considered quintessentially Nahe: Riesling, Pinot Noir and Pinot Blanc. Their ascension paralleled the estate’s own rise into the ranks of Germany’s finest wine producers!

Today, Armin Diel is underway in the world of culinary wine tours. More about this at:

 To the website of Armin Diel

What producers are saying

Julia and Klaus Peter Keller
drink DIEL


“We are a wine-loving family that has been producing wine in lovely Rheinhessen for 10 generations (since 1789). In fact, right now we have three generations under one roof. Among the things we adore in life are fresh eggs from our hens and fruit and veggies from our own garden — as well as grand Rieslings and Pinots... and we'd rarely say no to a delicately mineral Kabinett.”

“A Kabinett of marvelous minerality and cheer that fits almost every occasion.”

ONE OF OUR ELEGANTLY FRUITY RIESLINGS:
  • Pittermännchen Riesling Kabinett VDP.Grosse Lage

Julia and Klaus Peter Keller
drink DIEL


“We are a wine-loving family that has been producing wine in lovely Rheinhessen for 10 generations (since 1789). In fact, right now we have three generations under one roof. Among the things we adore in life are fresh eggs from our hens and fruit and veggies from our own garden — as well as grand Rieslings and Pinots... and we'd rarely say no to a delicately mineral Kabinett.”

“A Kabinett of marvelous minerality and cheer that fits almost every occasion.”

ONE OF OUR ELEGANTLY FRUITY RIESLINGS:
  • Pittermännchen Riesling Kabinett VDP.Grosse Lage

Julia and Klaus Peter Keller
drink DIEL


“We are a wine-loving family that has been producing wine in lovely Rheinhessen for 10 generations (since 1789). In fact, right now we have three generations under one roof. Among the things we adore in life are fresh eggs from our hens and fruit and veggies from our own garden — as well as grand Rieslings and Pinots... and we'd rarely say no to a delicately mineral Kabinett.”

“A Kabinett of marvelous minerality and cheer that fits almost every occasion.”

ONE OF OUR ELEGANTLY FRUITY RIESLINGS:
  • Pittermännchen Riesling Kabinett VDP.Grosse Lage

Caroline & Sylvain

A new, anti-elite generation of winegrower


Wine is our life!

Caroline Diel hails from a venerable winegrowing family and spent her childhood amidst the vineyards, vines and soils that are now at her command. This marked the beginning of her love for terroir and wine. By 18, she’d had the pleasure of tasting a wider selection of exquisite wines than most people enjoy in a lifetime. Nevertheless, after completing school at the Hildegardisschule in Bingen and a high school exchange in Pebble Beach, California, she considered pursuing a career in hotel management — and even completed an internship at Hotel Barreis under Johann Lafer. 

A key decision! 
There Caroline learned that wine ran not only in her veins, but in her heart as well. She arranged a new set of internships, with a redefined geographical and thematic focus. 

Caroline Diel

Prize-winning winemaker and mother of three

She learned a great deal about winemaking at Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande in Bordeaux, as well as at renowned German wine estates such as Robert Weil, Toni Jost, Hans Rebholz and Dr. Deinhard. As part of her studies in oenology at Geisenheim, she returned to France to work at the Ruinart champagne estate in Reims and at the Domaine de la Romanée-Conti in Burgundy. Even after the end of her formal vinicultural studies, her thirst for winemaking knowledge knew no bounds. After a brief stay at her parents’ estate, she headed off to Austria’s Schloss Halbturn am Neusiedlersee, then to South Africa’s Vergelegen Estate and finally the Rippon Estate on Lake Wanaka in New Zealand. 

Only after filling her mind with adventures and insights from the finest wine estates the world over did Caroline return to Burg Layen in 2006 to join long-time cellarmaster Christoph Friedrich in the viticultural and vinicultural labors. Since then, the university-trained oenologist sets out each year anew to draw the very best from the Schlossgut's vines and terroir, relying on both artisan intuition and a lifetime of experience.  

Since meeting her now-husband Sylvain Taurisson at a wine-and-chocolate pairing event in 2007, family has also played a major role in her life. Today the couple are the sole owners of the Diel estate, and proud parents to three children. The division of labor functions flawlessly. Sylvain handles sales and marketing, Caroline oversees the wine.

»We want to be intimately involved with all aspects of wine production. And we love the close discussions with customers and connoisseurs alike. The results speak for themselves...«

Caroline Diel, July 2019

Sylvain Taurisson-Diel

Marketing, Sales, Kids

From pro volleyballer to wine specialist!

Sylvain Taurisson-Diel from Mantes La Jolie near Versailles has many talents. And his passion for each of them is truly boundless. It should come as no surprise that the talented young volleyball player made the leap into the highest level of his sport, playing professionally for several years in France (Paris, Grenoble) and Germany (Rüsselsheim). Until that fateful January 13, 2006, when an injury brought his career to a sudden end.

A man of action and lust for life
Sad, no doubt, but also not the end of the world for him! Because Sylvain had also quietly pursued an academic career and even laid the groundwork for a business career. In Paris, he initially studied German Literature before switching to business management at the “Ecole de Commerce,” fittingly with a focus on international trade, a field in which he earned a Masters. That training, combined with his language skills, made him a perfect candidate to represent Valrhona, an esteemed French chocolate maker, in Germany. Given that he had just been with Rüsselsheim's Rhein-Main-Volleys, nearby Wiesbaden was also a perfect match.
And yet it was chocolate that upended his smartly laid plans, shortly before his intended return to Paris. Because there he met Caroline at a chocolate-and-wine pairing event. She was presenting the wines, he the chocolate... and he ended up staying in Germany.

A shared path
There followed several years as managing director of Schlumberger, one of Germany’s largest wine wholesalers (flagship products: Roederer Champagner, Ornellaia, Masseto,..), a wedding and three children... and blissfully intertwined lives and careers.
Caroline and Sylvain co-own the estate. Caroline makes the wine and Sylvain is responsible for everything except vineyard and cellar — including sales, marketing, customer service, streamlining of processes, sales, HR, etc. Beyond this, he is also the host at trade fairs and events and keeps his people well fed with secret family recipes from his French homeland.



Our cellar doors are always open for you!

Familie

Tradition in der siebten Generation

Ein Leben für Wein & Familie

Lage, Boden, Reben! Abwechslung und Genuss! Das und vieles mehr lieben die Diels an ihrem Beruf, der eigentlich eher Berufung ist. Caroline ist die siebte Winzer-Generation und erste Frau im traditionsreichen Schlossgut, das sie seit Juli 2019 gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann Sylvain Taurisson-Diel führt.

Das deutsch-französische Paar gehört zur neuen, antielitären Winzergeneration. Das Zusammenspiel von Job und Familie ist für sie untrennbar. Die Arbeitsgebiete der beiden sind jedoch klar abgesteckt. Sylvain verantwortet den Vertrieb und das Marketing, Caroline den Wein - in all seinen Facetten.
Dabei verleiht die diplomierte Önologin ihren Rieslingen und Burgundern von Jahr zu Jahr eine immer persönlichere Handschrift - geradlinig, mineralisch, terroirgeprägt und authentisch.

Caroline und Sylvain mit ihren Kindern

»Die Besonderheit jedes Jahrgangs zur Geltung zu bringen und Weine zu machen, die von ihrer Herkunft erzählen, das ist mir sehr wichtig«

Caroline Diel, Juli 2019

Caroline Diel mit Ihrem Vater Armin Diel

Eine reine Weingeschichte

Als Peter Diel 1802 das Landgut des Barons von Dalberg mit der Burg Layen erwarb, war es alles andere als absehbar, dass daraus eine mehr als zweihundertjährige Erfolgsgeschichte in Sachen Wein werden sollte. Dennoch wurde das ursprünglich als klassischer, landwirtschaftlicher Mischbetrieb geführte Schlossgut im Laufe der Jahre sukzessive von einem Gut mit Weinbau zu einem reinen Weingut umgestellt.

In der sechsten Generation - unter dem Management von Armin und Monika Diel - wurde die Rebfläche des Gutes schließlich auf die heute typischen Nahe-Rebsorten Riesling, Pinot Noir und weiße Burgunder umorientiert. Ein Meilenstein auf dem Weg in die Riege der besten deutschen Weinerzeuger!

Heute ist Armin Diel übrigens in Sachen kulinarische Weinreisen unterwegs. Näheres dazu unter:

 Zur Webseite von Armin Diel

Aus der Winzer-Szene

Julia und Klaus Peter Keller
trinken DIEL


„ Wir sind eine weinverliebte Familie mit drei Generationen unter einem Dach, die seit 10 Generationen (1789) Weinbau im schönen Rheinhessen betreibt. Neben den frisch gelegten Eiern unserer Hühner und dem Obst und Gemüse aus dem eigenen Garten, genießen wir ganz besonders gerne große Rieslinge und Burgunder - auch mit einem fein-mineralischen Kabinett kann man uns immer begeistern.”

»Ein Kabinett der herrlich mineralisch und beschwingt ist und einfach immer passt.«

EINER UNSERER FEINFRUCHTIGEN RIESLINGE:
  • Pittermännchen Riesling Kabinett VDP.Grosse Lage

Julia und Klaus Peter Keller
trinken DIEL


„ Wir sind eine weinverliebte Familie mit drei Generationen unter einem Dach, die seit 10 Generationen (1789) Weinbau im schönen Rheinhessen betreibt. Neben den frisch gelegten Eiern unserer Hühner und dem Obst und Gemüse aus dem eigenen Garten, genießen wir ganz besonders gerne große Rieslinge und Burgunder - auch mit einem fein-mineralischen Kabinett kann man uns immer begeistern.”

»Ein Kabinett der herrlich mineralisch und beschwingt ist und einfach immer passt.«

EINER UNSERER FEINFRUCHTIGEN RIESLINGE:
  • Pittermännchen Riesling Kabinett VDP.Grosse Lage

Julia und Klaus Peter Keller
trinken DIEL


„ Wir sind eine weinverliebte Familie mit drei Generationen unter einem Dach, die seit 10 Generationen (1789) Weinbau im schönen Rheinhessen betreibt. Neben den frisch gelegten Eiern unserer Hühner und dem Obst und Gemüse aus dem eigenen Garten, genießen wir ganz besonders gerne große Rieslinge und Burgunder - auch mit einem fein-mineralischen Kabinett kann man uns immer begeistern.”

»Ein Kabinett der herrlich mineralisch und beschwingt ist und einfach immer passt.«

EINER UNSERER FEINFRUCHTIGEN RIESLINGE:
  • Pittermännchen Riesling Kabinett VDP.Grosse Lage

Caroline & Sylvain

Die neue, antielitäre Winzergeneration

Wein ist ihr Leben!

Caroline Diel stammt aus einer traditionsreichen Winzerfamilie in der sie mit Lagen, Reben und Böden aufgewachsen ist. Ihre Liebe zu Terroir und Wein findet hier ihren Ursprung. Schon mit 18 Jahren hat sie mehr exquisite Weine kennengelernt, als die meisten in einem ganzen Menschenleben. Trotzdem hat sie nach dem Besuch der Hildegardisschule in Bingen und ersten internationalen Erfahrungen, die das Abitur im kalifornischen Pebble Beach miteinschließen, zunächst mit einer Ausbildung zur Hotelkauffrau geliebäugelt – dafür sogar Praktika im Hotel Barreis und bei Johann Lafer absolviert. 

Wichtig und richtungsweisend! 
Denn herauskristallisiert hat sich dabei vor allem eines, dass Carolines Herz für den Wein schlägt! Nach dieser klaren Erkenntnis führten die nächsten Praktika sie nicht nur reisetechnisch in eine ganz neue Richtung. 

Caroline Diel

Preisgekrönte Winzerin und Mutter dreier Kinder

Auf Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande in Bordeaux oder auch so renommierten deutschen Weingütern wie Robert Weil, Toni Jost, Hans Rebholz und Dr. Deinhard hat sie bereits viel übers Weinmachen gelernt. Während ihres Weinbaustudiums in Geisenheim folgten weitere Stationen in Frankreich, im Champagnerhaus Ruinart in Reims und in der Domaine de la Romanée-Conti in Burgund. Auch das Ende ihres Weinbaustudiums setzte ihrer Wissbegier keine Grenzen. Nach einem kurzen Zwischenstopp auf dem heimischen Weingut ging’s weiter ins österreichische Schloss Halbturn am Neusiedlersee, nach Südafrika zum Gut Vergelegen und nach Neuseeland zum Rippon Estate am Lake Wanaka. 

Mit vielen Eindrücken und Erfahrungen im Gepäck – gesammelt in den besten Weingütern weltweit! – kehrte Caroline 2006 zurück nach Burg Layen, um gemeinsam mit dem langjährigen Kellermeister Christoph Friedrich am An- und Ausbau der Weine in Weinberg und Keller zu feilen. Seitdem holt die diplomierte Önologin jedes Jahrs aufs Neue mit viel Fingerspitzengefühl und großer Expertise das Beste aus Reben und Terroir des Schlossgutes heraus. 

Nachdem sie bei einem Wein- und Schokoladen-Pairing 2007 ihren jetzigen Ehemann Sylvain Taurisson kennengelernt hat, stehen plötzlich auch Familienplanung und die Übernahme und gemeinsame Führung des Weingutes auf der Agenda. Heute sind die beiden alleinige Inhaber des Weingutes und haben drei Kinder, um die sie sich gemeinsam kümmern. Und auch die Arbeitsteilung der beiden klappt bestens. Sylvain verantwortet den Vertrieb und Caroline den Wein – in all seinen Facetten.

»Wir haben den Anspruch bei der Weinherstellung hautnah am Geschehen zu sein. Und wir lieben den engen Austausch mit Kunden und Weinliebhabern. Das Ergebnis kann sich sehen lassen...«

Caroline Diel, Juli 2019

Sylvain Taurisson-Diel

Marketing, Vertrieb, Kinder

Vom Volleyball-Profi zum Wein-Spezialisten!

Sylvain Taurisson-Diel aus Mantes La Jolie bei Versailles hat viele Talente. Für jedes davon brennt er mit großer Leidenschaft. Insofern verwundert es auch wenig, dass der talentierte Jung-Volleyballer in die 1. Liga aufstieg, wo er etliche Jahre als Profi gespielt hat – sowohl in Frankreich (Paris, Grenoble) als auch in Deutschland (Rüsselsheim). Bis ein Sportunfall an einem Freitag, den 13. im Januar 2006 seiner Karriere ein jähes Ende setzte.

Tatendrang und Lebensfreude
Schade zwar, aber für ihn kein Weltuntergang! Denn seine akademische und später auch berufliche Karriere hat Sylvain immer parallel vorangetrieben. In Paris studierte er zunächst Germanistik und später dann BWL in einer „Ecole de Commerce“ – passenderweise mit Schwerpunkt internationaler Handel, worin er einen Master absolvierte. Das und seine Sprachkenntnisse machten ihn zum perfekten Kandidaten für den auf französische Schokolade spezialisierten Hersteller Valrhona in Deutschland. Dass Wiesbaden und die Rüsselsheimer Rhein-Main-Volleys ebenfalls perfekt zusammen passten, war ein zusätzlicher Anreiz.
Kurz vor seinem geplanten Rückzug nach Paris war es auch die Schokolade, die den Grundstein für sein weiteres Leben legte. Denn bei einem Schokoladen-Wein-Pairing traf er Caroline. Sie präsentierte die Weine, er die Schokolade … und er blieb in Deutschland.

Der gemeinsame Weg
Nach einigen Jahren als Geschäftsführer der Firma Schlumberger, einem der größten, deutschen Weingroßhändler (Hauptprodukte: Roederer Champagner, Ornellaia, Masseto,..), Hochzeit und schließlich Kind Nummer 3 hat sich das deutsch-französische Paar auch beruflich für den gemeinsamen Weg entschieden.
Caroline und Sylvain sind heute gemeinsam Inhaber des Weinguts. Caroline macht den Wein und Sylvain ist für alles außer Weinberg und Keller verantwortlich, darunter den Vertrieb mit Marketing, Kundenpflege, Neuorientierung der Strukturen, Versand, Personal u.v.m. Darüber hinaus ist er Gastgeber auf Messen und Events und verwöhnt seine Gäste auch kulinarisch – mit original französischen Familienrezepten.






Wir machen für Sie gerne mal ein Faß auf!